Day 39 – 46: “Petrichor waale gaane” Part I

After a huge hiatus that involved a lot of procrastination, some body aches, some cursing my fate and some more cursing everyone in general, I’m back with the songs that I am sure you missed! 😉

Sunday mornings in the monsoon are my favourite, especially when I am indoors and have a cup of chai (green tea now) in my hand to watch the rain flow on the window.. did you imagine me with a book? Yes, I most certainly have one in my hand!

But what of the times that I am travelling? Or when the luxury of sitting and staring at the clouds is not available? I listen to these songs. This list was initially 5 songs, then they became 10, and now after a lot of playlist searching, they’re two posts! And hopefully this will help me fill the void in my challenge! The second one will be here on Monday morning! 😀

The following list is a LONG one, trust me on that! But none of them have anything to do with the monsoons – no wet saris clinging to the body, no wet hair being side swept with a half grin and certainly no tip-tip of the boondein. It’s just songs I love to listen when it’s raining.

Have a listen when it rains next time and tell me if you like them as much as I do. Mind you, all new and soulful numbers. Let’s start shall we?

P.S. Petrichor is the smell of rain on dry earth! 😉 Happy monsoon-y Sunday! 😀

Day 39: Tu Bole

Movie: Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na (2008)
Music: A.R.Rahman
Lyrics: Abbas Tyrewala
Singers: A.R.Rahman

Genelia and Imran. Xavier’s and Bandra Fort for the backdrop. This movie and it’s soundtrack got a lot of attention but for all the wrong songs. Listen to this version from MTV Unplugged and then the original here. Tell me you don’t love it. I challenge you. 🙂

Day 40: Mar Jaava

Movie: Fashion (2008)
Music: Salim-Sulaiman
Lyrics: Irfan Siddiqui
Singers: Salim Merchant, Shruti Pathak

Fashion was a very forgettable movie but an unforgettable soundtrack. It was one of those that made me notice this music composer duo. Mar Jaava is the correct mix of ambition and ruthlessness that drives Priyanka Chopra in the movie.

Day 41: Ramta  Jogi

Movie: Taal (1999)
Music: A.R.Rahman
Lyrics: Anand Bakshi
Singers: Sukhwinder Singh, Alka Yagnik

This is my cheat song. I promised new songs and I am giving you one from the 90s! But yes, cannot do without this one. Also notice the sounds in the background – the continuous bells and then the swishing of the water. There is a bell that plays throughout. And yes, a song where my eyes never left Anil Kapoor.

Day 42: Kitni Baatein

Movie: Lakshya (2004)
Music: Shankar Ehsaan Loy
Lyrics: Javed Akhtar
Singers: Hariharan, Sadhana Sargam

Love story in the middle of the war. Guns, artillery and reminiscing about love gained and then lost. Farhan Akhtar makes a good case for his actors- no words spoken but looks exchanged; but it is Hariharan and Sadhana Sargam who steal the show.

Day 43: Aas Paas Hai Khuda

Movie: Anjaana Anjaani (2010)
Music: Vishal-Shekhar
Lyrics: Vishal-Shekhar
Singers: Rahar Fateh Ali Khan

Strangers with a suicide pact, seen that before and know what happens in the end. What you haven’t heard, is this song sung by Rahat Fateh Ali Khan that is like him and yet, so unlike him!

Day 44: Maula Mere Maula

Movie: Anwar (2007)
Music: Mithoon
Lyrics: No clue!
Singers: Roop Kumar Rathod

Anwar is a movie that deserved to be noticed because of the theme, but unfortunately, it lost all direction halfway through and then, disappeared entirely from all our collective movies. This song, however, everyone remembers. Partly because of the music and the way it is sung, and partly because of Nauheed Cyrusi. Watch her in the song and you’ll know why.

Day 45: Lukka Chuppi

Movie: Rang De Basanti (2007)
Music: A. R. Rahman
Lyrics: Prasoon Joshi
Singers: Lata Mangeshkar, A. R. Rahman

I have spoken a lot about the soundtrack of RDB. It’s genius. This one is a song that makes it to my list of exceptions – I don’t like the voice of the Nightingale of India much, but this one.. yes this one does it for me. A tearjerker and what composition! Rahman just compliments everything beautifully! Listen to the full track here.

Day 46: Iktara (Male Version)

Movie: Wake Up Sid (2007)
Music: Amit Trivedi
Lyrics: Amitabh Bhattacharya
Singers: Tochi Raina, Amitabh Bhattacharya, Raman Mahadevan

They say you get only one chance to prove yourself, for Amit Trivedi this one was enough. In a soundtrack by SEL that was extremely formulaic and absolutely lackluster, Iktara stood out. Amit Trivedi shone. While the female version by Kavita Seth is the famous one, give this an ear. Tell me what you think of it. And oh yes, it rains at the end of this song! And Mumbai during the rains! ❤

So that’s it for today! 🙂 Hopefully, I’ll soon be back on track! 😀 Leave your comments about what your feel about my monsoon playlist!

6 thoughts on “Day 39 – 46: “Petrichor waale gaane” Part I

  1. Luka Chhuppi and Petrichor? NO! Same for Kitni baatein. The rains don’t make one patriotic, they make one nostalgic, love-struck and sometimes melancholy.

    I would say that In Dinon from Life in a Metro, Ab ke saawan by Shobha Mudgal, Chhai chhap chhai from Hu tu tu, Geela geela paani from Satya and Baarish from Yaariyan would qualify. There a couple of other songs that I can’t recall that have that typical rain feel to them.

    And Iktara female is so much better than male!

    Like

    • First and foremost: No making the rains think you me of these. But these make me think of rains! Geddit?

      The songs you listed are all with rains IN them. Defeats the purpose of my list. Did you even read it? -_-

      Male is better. 😀

      Like

  2. This has some of my favourite tracks!! Lemme reiterate — Utkarsha, please please make a playlist!

    Also, I agree with Aamil in that In Dinon and the likes would very well go with the mood too 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

