Day 36: Stop That

Movie: Gambler  (1995)
Song: Stop That
Music Director: Anu Malik
Singers: Devang Patel
Actors (in the song): Govinda

Honestly, I am quite surprised this is only my second Govinda song on this list.

And quite clearly, Devang Patel and Govinda are a combination no one who was alive from the 90s is likely to forget. In Gambler there was another song, Meri Marzi that captured the imagination of this country like no song before that.Not only is Patel the baap of rap in India, he also has his distinct style of inane-ness that no one since has been able to follow.

But most importantly, the lyrics of this song caught my attention this time. There’s a hint of sarcasm that could even be alluding to a dystopian future if you look for it. Or I am just over analysing! 😛

On the other hand it can always be said that the lyricist simply found rhyming words first and then put them together, that’s quite plausible considering that the brief for this song must have been “make it mad”.

Govinda is in his evergreen best here with garish get-ups and moves that can only be his forte. Seriously! Look at step he repeats on loop. It’s weird but very tough to do.

My favourite line is the one I can never forget:

Madhuri Dixit mili raste mein,
Khaaye chane humne saste mein.

(Madhuri Dixit met me on the road,
We ate chickpeas for cheap.)

Enjoy the video here:

3 thoughts on “Day 36: Stop That

  1. I didn’t know this song was called Stop That. I always remembered a song with people wearing pink tail-coats. But I didn’t know which song it was. That said, I would select Meri Marzi as one of my favourite Govinda tracks! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

