Day 29: Mere Dil Ka Tumse Hain Kehna

Movie: Armaan (2003)
Song: Mere Dil Ka Tumse Hain Kehna
Music Director: Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy (SEL)
Lyrics: Javed Akhtar
Singers: Chithra
Actors (in the song): Anil Kapoor, Preity Zinta

Last week when I took an unplanned break from blogging about movies, I asked my friends at Bookhad for some help with songs. After I said the songs from DCH would be one, Aroop suggested this one! 🙂

Armaan is a movie I saw some time last year, and was immediately reminded of all the hospital dramas on TV. Indian and the American ones. Why do we have so many love stories in hospitals? Is that the most “happening” place? Wonder what my doctor friends feel about this.

Anyway, Preity Zinta in the movie and the song! Watch her! Her look, the way she acts as a deranged patient first and then a jealous, conniving wife is one of her career best, in my opinion. Watch this song and see the twist in the “samjhe” where very casually she threatens that if you don’t remain mine, then… Clearly, killing herself or him is not a very cheery thing to put in a seduction song, but she does it!

The funny part about this song is, unlike the usual where the actress gradually strips to up the “hot” quotient (pretty funny in my opinion), Preity actually begins in the bath and then her dresses keep getting longer! Wow. The best portion of the choreography for me though, is the part where she picks up the knives and forks and leads Anil Kapoor to the bedroom! Talk about living under gun-point (there’s a Tamanche pe Disco joke here somewhere, but I’m way to tired).

I will take a minute here because I have to appreciate Anil Kapoor. That man will be 60 soon and is still going from strength to strength. There was a time in the mid-2000s where I thought his career would slowly fade away after the string of nonsensical movies he did. Look at him now! 24 was a brilliant show for Indian TV, and don’t forget his debut as a director with Gandhi, My Father.

My only grouse with this song is SEL‘s choice of getting Chithra to sing. This is a snazzy, fun song that would better suit Sunidhi Chauhan’s voice. Instead she sung the soft from the movie, Meri Zindagi Mein Aaye Ho, my favourite from the movie! Nevertheless, enjoy the video here:

3 thoughts on “Day 29: Mere Dil Ka Tumse Hain Kehna

Leave a Reply

