Day 28: Nani Teri Morni Ko

Movie: Masoom (1960)
Song: Nani Teri Morni Ko
Music Director: Robin Banerjee
Lyrics: I’ve no clue!
Singers: Ranu Mukherjee.
Actors (in the song): I recognise none of them!

One of the sweetest songs of my childhood, something my nani taught me! 🙂 She still sings this one to me. Thinking of my grandparents today, here you go, this song sung by singer Hemant Kumar’s daughter Ranu has been recreated so many times that I’ve lost count now.

The best part about the song is no doubt the little girl who prances and swirls in the house in her cute skirt. However, the singer is clearly closer to the actor’s age and the difference in the voice is so prominent when you compare it to the other “child” singers of the era, who were more or less adults. Even if you shut your eyes, you can picturise a little girl singing this song with deep breaths in the middle to begin a new sentence and then suddenly losing the beat! 🙂

About the same time, Gharana had a similar song Dadiamma Dadiamma Maan Jao sung by Asha Bhosale and Kamal Barot. I wouldn’t be surprised if both the kids in the song are actually girls playing boys. Anyone know who they are? Also, Lalita Pawar is very entertaining as the Dadiamma. I remember watching this movie when I was a kid, and Pawar has since been the evil mother-in-law for me! 🙂

A song from your childhood that you like? Any suggestions for me to take up? Leave a comment!

Enjoy both videos here:

And

 

11 thoughts on “Day 28: Nani Teri Morni Ko

  1. This is so cute. But my favourite track was the song – lakdi ki Kathi, Kathi pe ghoda. One of the kids picturised in the song is Urmila Matondkar!
    P.s.: As Kautuk had said in the fb post comment, this is becoming #100daysofnostalgia

    Like

  2. Great post. It is the go to song for me as well whenever I want to play something for my kids and they love it. Not that I like it any less. The rhythm is so lively and lyrics are hilarious. My younger one gets on top of me whenever it is played and start riding me like a horse :). I used to go to school in a Tonga ( horse cart) and the lines “ghore ki dum pe jo mara hathora, dora dora ghora dum utha ke dora” always bring me to a laugh as they remind me how our poor horse used to get whipped and accurately depict his reaction after getting his ass whipped lol :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

