Day 25: Kya Kare Kya Na Kare

Movie: Rangeela (1995)
Song: Kya Kare Kya Na Kare
Music Director: A. R. Rahman
Lyrics: Mehboob
Singers: Udit Narayan
Actors (in the song): Aamir Khan, Urmila Matondkar

Rangeela was a starting point for a lot of things. Urmila Matondkar’s career, Manish Malhotra’s racy costumes, Rahman’s Hindi debut soundtrack and the start of what is around two decades of animosity between Aamir Khan and popular awards.

Originally the song for today was to be Tanha Tanha Yahan Pe Jeena, the return of Asha Bhosale and went with my songs of the last few days. However, the song happens to feature Jackie Shroff in a speedo, something that cannot be unseen in this life. You’ve been warned. Therefore, in my dilemma, I chose this one! Kya kare kya na kare humesha ki mushkil hain haay!

Aamir Khan is something else in this movie! A lovable galli ka gunda who makes money by selling tickets in black outside movie theatres. This is my favourite scene from the movie.

Rahman is featuring way too often on my list I realise, but it’s something I cannot help. This album has a haunting character to it that you cannot ignore. Especially the effervescent Hai Rama.

My favourite lines from this song are:

Wo saamne chamakti hain,
Saans hi atakti hain,
Aur ye zubaan jaati hain phisal.

(She shines in front of me,
I cannot breathe,
And my tongue slips) 😉

Watch the video here:

8 thoughts on “Day 25: Kya Kare Kya Na Kare

    • I realised I didn’t reply on the first part of your comment.

      Basically, Rangeela was different in terms of music and story. It was both critically acclaimed and did well at the box office. But Aamir lost out to SRK for DDLJ, that was the popular choice that year. Aamir basically gave up post this incident claiming that he didn’t want to give importance to award functions by being present, the underlying tone being he wasn’t happy.

      I’ve a lot of filmy gyan with zero value. :-/

      Like

  1. “However, the song happens to feature Jackie Shroff in a speedo, something that cannot be unseen in this life. ” Hahahaha. So true.

    Genius movie! In all respects. Aamir and A R Rahman at their best.

    Like

  2. I have laughed and cried and squirmed with anticipation while watching this movie. One of the best performances by Aamir Khan and Urmila.. well.. DAMN THAT HOT GIRL!

    I know every word of this song and I love it, but Urmila definitely sizzles more in Tanha Tanha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

