Day 14: Tujhe Dekha Toh Ye Jaana Sanam

Movie: Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge (1995)
Song: Tujhe Dekha To Ye Jaana Sanam
Music Director: Jatin-Lalit
Lyrics: Anand Bakshi
Singers: Kumar Sanu, Lata Mangeshkar
Actors (in the song): Shahrukh Khan, Kajol

Yes, I did it. I reserved the biggest song of the decade for my birthday! 😀

Heard this song? Obviously you have! There’s no rock under which you could’ve lived where you couldn’t have heard this song. Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge (DDLJ) holds the title of the longest running Hindi film ever. One of these days I will watch a show in Maratha Mandir.

So, if you’ve not seen this movie, then I suggest you must. It’s the reason why most Indian girls think that the ultimate European vacation includes finding yourself a nice boy and buying a bell from souvenir shops in the Swiss Alps.

There’s nothing special about this song, the lyrics are not remarkable for the period, Kumar Sanu and Lata Mangeshkar sing normally, SRK and Kajol re-play their entire European vacation with retrospection on “what if”s, while they’re sitting all the while in the khet of Punjab, even the choreography is the same as all other movies of the 90s.

What is remarkable though, something that strikes me now, what is it with metallic toned saris in the Alps? And then switching to neon coloured pseudo-western salwar kameezes?! While watching the video for posting this post (?!) today, I found myself shrieking, “Will you cover yourselves you fools! It’s so cold!” Thankfully, the snow is a very small part of the song. Have you also noticed SRK at 2.02? It’s like he is controlling a fit of laughter. (Go watch and laugh!)

My favourite lines are the opening lines:

Tujhe dekha toh ye jaana sanam,
Pyaar hota hain deewana sanam.
Ab yaha se kaha jaaye hum?
Teri baahon mein mar jaaye hum.

(When I saw you I realised this dear,
That love is madness dear.
Where do I go from here now?
I will just die in your arms.)

P.S. I miss Kajol (especially the unibrowed one).Very much.

Watch the video here:

5 thoughts on “Day 14: Tujhe Dekha Toh Ye Jaana Sanam

  1. Love this movie and love this song (though not so much as mere khwabon mein jo aaye and doli saja ke rakhna). Thank you for reminding us regularly about wonderful songs from the past.

    Like

  2. I watched the video and you were right! He does seem like he’s trying to suppress a fit of giggles at 2.02 😀 My personal favourite from the movie is Ruk Ja O Dil Deewane. Abhijeet sounds like he has enjoyed the song thoroughly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

