Day 12: Dil Ka Haal Sune Dilwala

Movie: Shree 420 (1955)
Song: Dil Ka Haal Sune Dilwala
Music Director: Shankar-Jaikishan
Lyrics: Shailendra
Singers: Manna Dey
Actors (in the song): Raj Kapoor.

Perhaps my father’s favourite song of all time and mine too to an extent, Dil Ka Haal… is a beautiful song with great lyrics and Raj Kapoor. Overshadowed by more popular songs from the movie, this song is a rare one off where the philosophy of the lyrics hit me hard because the song is in its essence a social commentary on India and Indians.

The video is pretty straightforward, some construction workers chilling after a day of work and the “Daulatwaala” is irritated by the show outside his mansion. It’s no secret that Raj Kapor aped Charlie Chaplin a lot and that trait is very clear in this song as well.

The effect of the voice of Manna Dey picturised on Raj Kapoor is nice to watch when the setting is so informal. One of the highlights of this song to me is the “tsk tsk” or “ch ch ch” sound that the chorus makes, and in this case audience watching Raj Kapoor sing. I remember doing that clucking sound with my father when he would sing this song.

Though the song can be considered satire and a open confession of the life of the character, I like how emotional it is. Especially the line “Bhook ne bade pyaar se paala”, if that doesn’t touch you, I’ve no clue what would.

My favourite verse is:

Ghum se abhi aazad nahi main,
Khush hoon magar aabad nahi main,
Manzil mere paas khadi hain,
Paanv mein lekin bedi padi hain,
Taang adata hain daulatwaala.

(I am not free from depression yet,
I am happy but not flourishing,
My goal stands close to me,
But my feet are chained,
The rich man interferes.)

Enjoy the video here and tell me if you like it as much as I do:

2 thoughts on “Day 12: Dil Ka Haal Sune Dilwala

Leave a Reply

