Children’s day and My box of Magic…


Children’s day was/is the day I would await the most; apart from my birthday. For the sole reason that my dad is one of those rare people who gets a cake as well as gifts for the “occasion”. So basically the fantastic memories from my childhood have a lot of children’s day memories.

Such memories and other special ones were always hidden by me, something that I hid in the deep recesses of my book shelf. So that it would never be found by anyone. My box of magic.

As a kid I always had this wonderful idea that I’d find something that would bring magic into my life. [Blame it on the ideas of magic lamps/portkeys/glass slippers]. I know it is a fantastically romantic idea, but I have always wanted the perfect life with the “happy ending” in it.

So all the small things that I found pretty and well, cute, would go into a pretty box. It had all these ribbons stuck to it et al. I guess the box was gifted to dad by some client on Diwali when I was in school (probably primary). Still can’t remember what it held, but through the years, I’ve always dug it out and added things to it.

This is what my magic box looks like:

That’ THE box!
The Magic!



And the contents (if you can’t see clearly) are a lot of things from different phases of my life: there’s my LA Santa hat, some 4-5 pendants that look like small bells, all sorts of ghungroos and bells that I tore out of pretty key chains, my invitation for my Fresher’s party in FYBMM, my school bus pass, Mahesh Tutorials id card, my first pass for the rock show at Ruia in 2007, there’s a sealed packet of sands from the Arabian Sea, Bay of Bengal and Indian Ocean that I bought in Kanyakumari when I was 12-13 etc.

My mom and sister think it’s absolute trash that I’ve wrapped in two net duppattas (in fashion when I was in primary school). I doubt if I touched it after I was in 18. But today, I was looking for some badges from Wikipedia that some friends got back for me as a souvenir from its 10thyear celebrations, and I found the box by accident.

Funnily enough, even though it was only two years back when I last saw it, today when I see it, it still reminds me of all those sweet and happy childhood memories. I was sitting at home brooding about how pathetic it is to be alone all day long and have nothing to do – when I found this so called magic box.



Turns out, it is a magic box after all. After so many days of groping in the dark for some reason to smile, I found a box full of them. Magical memories. And my box full of magic. J
9 thoughts on “Children’s day and My box of Magic…

  1. Good one :)brought back my memories of childhood 🙂
    Ummm..I saw a Nazi Swastika badge there….childhood memories include goose-stepping and shouts of “Heil Hitler” ?? 😛 LOL 😛

    Like

  2. @Mitra… 😀 Who wouldn't?! But there's fun in growing up too..immense fun! 🙂

    @Alok…Naah re..this year no cake for me! 😦

    @Aditya.. 😀 Hahaha… No one did know re! 😛

    @Pavan.. No no! Not Nazi!! That's a normal swastika on a diya, that was gifted to me on Diwali by my tuition teacher's daughter! So if anything then she would've yelled “Heil Hitler!” 😛

    Like

  3. This post inspired me to write a few lines!

    Then one day as you sit all alone
    Staring at the walls, looking at the phone..
    They will swell in your mind and take you by surprise
    And put a smile on your lips and little tears in your eyes..

    Those endearingly stupid memories I tell you..

    Like

Leave a Reply

